In association with heise online

28 March 2011, 14:36

Linux Foundation announces the Linux Gurus for 2011

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • submit to slashdot
  • StumbleUpon
  • submit to reddit

The non-profit organisation dedicated to promoting Linux, the Linux Foundation, has announced its top five 2011 Linux Gurus. The awarding of Guru status is intended to recognise those individuals that have made the greatest contribution to the community through their participation on the site, by writing blog posts, answering questions, and so on. The contributors earn points as they participate on the site, and these are totalled each year during the period from 16 February to 15 February the following year. The top five points earners are awarded Guru status.

For the year just completed, the highest points earner is Matthew Fillpot (mfillpot). He works as a development and training specialist and has been a Linux user since 2000. He was one of the top five Gurus last year and as this year's Ultimate Linux Guru, Matthew will receive a fully loaded “Dream Linux Machine.”

The other four Gurus this year are: Aaron Aceves (adnhack) is a software engineer at Softek; Andrea Benini (ben), a systems administrator for nearly 20 years and a previous Linux Guru award winner; Shane Hatcher (ShaneH57), a student who is planning a career as a Linux Systems Administrator after graduation; and, Istimsak Abdulbasir (saqman2060), "self-proclaimed tech enthusiastic".

All five winners will also be invited to attend the Linux Foundation's Collaboration Summit, 6-8 April 2011, in San Francisco. They will also participate in the annual Planning Meeting, which focuses on ongoing improvements to the site.

See also:


Print Version | Send by email | Permalink:

  • July's Community Calendar

The H Open

The H Security

The H Developer

The H Internet Toolkit