In association with heise online

23 July 2009, 12:11

Google O'Reilly Open Source Awards announced

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • submit to slashdot
  • StumbleUpon
  • submit to reddit

Google O'Reilyy OSA 2009 At OSCON 2009 in San Jose, California, Google announced the winners of this years Google O'Reilly Open Source Awards. The awards have been presented each year since 2005 to individuals for their "dedication, innovation, leadership and outstanding contribution to open source".

This years winner for Best Education Hacker was Penny Leach for her work on the Moodle Course Management System (CMS) and the Mahara e-portfolio system. Evan Prodromou won the award for Best Social Networking Hacker for his work on micro-blogging tool Laconica and micro-blogging service

Director of Sunlight Labs Clay Johnson won the Best Community Builder award. His development team builds technology to make government more transparent by "turning government data into usable information". The Best Open Source Database Hacker for 2009 is Brian Aker, for his work on the Drizzle Micro-kernel and MySQL and the 2009 Database Jedi Master is Bruce Momjian for his contributions to PostgreSQL.

Each of the winners will receive a $5,000 cash prize and a glass statue award. A complete list of past winners is available on Google's Open Source Awards - Hall of Fame web page.


Print Version | Send by email | Permalink:

  • July's Community Calendar

The H Open

The H Security

The H Developer

The H Internet Toolkit