In association with heise online

22 July 2010, 11:13

O'Reilly Open Source Awards announced

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • submit to slashdot
  • StumbleUpon
  • submit to reddit

OSCON 2010 Logo At the OSCON 2010 open source convention taking place in Portland, Oregon, O'Reilly Media's Edd Dumbill has announced the winners of this years O'Reilly Open Source Awards. The awards have been presented each year since 2005 to individuals for their "dedication, innovation, leadership and outstanding contribution to open source".

This year, Greg Stein, one of the founding developers of the Subversion project, received an award for his contributions to the open source community, not just for his work on Subversion, but also for his work as a developer and community leader to both Python and Apache. Stein is an active member of the Apache Software Foundation board. Leslie Hawthorn was honoured for her long standing commitment to Google's Summer of Code (GSoC) and is known for her community leadership and advocacy of software freedom.

Brad Fitzpatrick, founder and co-founder of various projects, including OpenID, memcached, MogileFS and Gearman, received an award, as did Jeremy Allison, who has contributed to the Samba project for over 15 years. Known for getting open source software into state and local government agencies for the last decade, Deborah Bryant was also recognised for her work to promote open source.

A complete list of past winners is available on the Open Source Awards - Hall of Fame web page.


Print Version | Send by email | Permalink:

  • July's Community Calendar

The H Open

The H Security

The H Developer

The H Internet Toolkit