In association with heise online

06 March 2013, 15:35

Common Criteria certification for SUSE Linux Enterprise Server

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • submit to slashdot
  • StumbleUpon
  • submit to reddit

SLES logo

SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 11 SP2 with KVM virtualisation has been awarded the EAL4+ Common Criteria certification by the German Federal Office for Information Security (BSI). The EAL4+ certificate is valid for 64-bit x86 systems and for SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for System Z 11 SP2. This means that SUSE has caught up with Red Hat, whose Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 is EAL4+ certified as well.

The Common Criteria form the basis that describes IT security according to ISO-IEC 15408. The certificate is designed to ensure that products meet certain security criteria. Manufacturers also have to meet specific requirements in terms of support, the documentation of security features and the handling of security incidents. EAL certification is often required in sensitive public sector areas and in the finance and health sectors. EAL4+ is the highest level a standard operating system can reach without special modifications.


Print Version | Send by email | Permalink:

  • July's Community Calendar

The H Open

The H Security

The H Developer

The H Internet Toolkit