In association with heise online

11 April 2013, 15:47

The OpenJDK Governing Board elects new members

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • submit to slashdot
  • StumbleUpon
  • submit to reddit

OpenJDK logo

The OpenJDK Governing Board has elected its two At-Large Members for the 2013 term. Nominated for the two positions were Andrew Haley from Red Hat and Doug Lea from the State University of New York (SUNY) at Oswego, who is best known for his work on Java concurrency. Both were re-elected unanimously after having served in the position in the year before. All OpenJDK Members were entitled to vote in the election.

The OpenJDK Governing Board, which presides over the development community of the open source Java reference implementation, is made up of three seats filled by corporate entities and the two At-Large Members elected by the community. The Chair of the board and the OpenJDK Lead are both appointed by Oracle, the board's Vice-Chair is appointed by IBM.

At-Large Members serve for a term of one calendar year starting on 1 April. In cases where there are two candidates for the two seats (which is a "ratification election" according to the OpenJDK Community Bylaws), each standing candidate needs a simple majority to be elected. Haley was elected with 35 votes for, none against and 3 abstentions. Lea was elected with 36 votes for, none against and 3 abstentions

The OpenJDK Governing Board has no direct authority over the technical matters within the OpenJDK release process or over release decisions. As a legislative body, it can revise the community's Bylaws, a process which has to be ratified by the OpenJDK members. The Board also resolves conflicts between members of the OpenJDK community as procedural and technical disagreements can be appealed to the Governing Board and will then be resolved by a decision of its members.


Print Version | Send by email | Permalink:

  • July's Community Calendar

The H Open

The H Security

The H Developer

The H Internet Toolkit