In association with heise online

20 March 2012, 10:22

OSI reforms reach board level

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • submit to slashdot
  • StumbleUpon
  • submit to reddit

OSI logo The Open Source Initiative has announced three new board members: Mike Millinkovich, Luis Villa and Deb Bryant. From 1 April, they will be taking over seats on the open source advocating organisation's board which were freed by the departure of Mike Godwin, Andrew Oliver and Michael Tiemann. As announced at FOSDEM 2012, for the first time, the OSI board invited nominations for two of the seats from non-directors, specifically the new OSI affiliates; they retained one seat for a board-only appointment.

The affiliates (Apache Software Foundation, Creative Commons, Drupal, the Eclipse Foundation, FreeBSD, Joomla, KDE, the Linux Foundation, the Mozilla Foundation, Plone, Sahana and Wikiotics) nominated three people for the two seats and the OSI board selected the Eclipse Foundation's Executive Director Mike Milinkovich, and Mozilla Foundation nominated attorney Luis Villa; the latter was previously attorney at Mozilla working on the MPL, and GNOME Foundation board member. The board selected open government and open source advocate Deb Bryant to take the remaining seat.

Luis Villa, commenting on his appointment, noted that he's been "known to say that skeptical things about the Open Source Initiative’s role in the open source world", mostly about the unused potential of the organisation, and that he is now "excited to announce that I’m now putting my money where my mouth is". He cited the new affiliate model as one of the concrete steps the OSI was taking in its reform process and one of the reasons he is prepared to invest time and energy into being a board member.


Print Version | Send by email | Permalink:

  • July's Community Calendar

The H Open

The H Security

The H Developer

The H Internet Toolkit