In association with heise online

25 August 2011, 16:51

New member appointed to Debian Technical Committee

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • submit to slashdot
  • StumbleUpon
  • submit to reddit

Debian Logo

By officially appointing Colin Watson to the Debian Technical Committee (tech-ctte), project leader Stefano Zacchiroli has added another member to the Debian developer community's highest governing body. The official appointment was preceded by talks between Zacchiroli and the committee chairman, Bdale Garbee, in which the Debian Project Leader (DPL) informally suggested Colin Watson as a reinforcement to the committee. Garbee picked up the suggestion and, in strict conformance with the Debian constitution, officially recommended to Zacchiroli that Watson be appointed a committee member.

The Technical Committee is the only Debian body that has managerial authority: its decisions in technical disputes, for instance between developers and packet maintainers, are final and binding for all parties. For example, the committee recently decided that the Lilo bootloader is to remain in the distribution's Unstable development branch; various Debian developers had demanded its removal. Previously, the Technical Committee consisted of seven members: Bdale Garbee (chairman), Russ Allbery, Don Armstrong, Andreas Barth, Ian Jackson, Steve Langasek and Manoj Srivastav.

See also:


Print Version | Send by email | Permalink:

  • July's Community Calendar

The H Open

The H Security

The H Developer

The H Internet Toolkit