In association with heise online

24 August 2009, 16:19

New board members for the OpenStreetMap Foundation

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • submit to slashdot
  • StumbleUpon
  • submit to reddit

OpenStreetMap During this years Annual General Meeting held on the 22nd of August, the OpenStreetMap Foundation (OSMF) elected a new board. There were eleven candidates for the election. The entire 2008 OSMF board stood and six were re-elected.

Returning 2008 board member include Andy Robinson, Henk Hoff, Michael Collinson, Mikel Maron, Simone Cortesi and Steve Coast. Ulf Möller, a member of the OSMF license working group, joined the board for the first time. According to OSMF's Articles of Association, board membership can be for a term of up to three years.

The OpenStreetMap Foundation oversees the OpenStreetMap Project (OSM), an open source project that is building free online maps that are not based on any copyright or licensed map data. The project was started in August of 2004 and has become increasingly popular. OSM celebrated its 5th anniversary on the same day as the election.

The results of the election are available on the 2009 Annual General Meeting wiki and in a post to the OSM mailing list. A formal announcement, however, has yet to be made on the OpenGeoData blog or on the OpenStreetMap Foundation site.

See also:


Print Version | Send by email | Permalink:

  • July's Community Calendar

The H Open

The H Security

The H Developer

The H Internet Toolkit