In association with heise online

23 March 2010, 11:28

EclipseCon 2010: Community award winners announced

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • submit to slashdot
  • StumbleUpon
  • submit to reddit

EclipseCon 2010 Logo The Eclipse Foundation has announced the winners of this year's annual Eclipse Community Awards at the EclipseCon 2010 conference. The awards recognise the top individuals, projects and technologies in the Eclipse ecosystem.

Eike Stepper, an Eclipse committer since 2004, won the individual award for the Top Committer, while Lars Vogel, a Product Manager at SAP and popular "Eclipse Papercuts" blogger, was voted as this year's Top Contributor. The 2010 individual award for the Top Newcomer Evangelist went to Walter Harley for answering the most questions raised on the eclipse.newcomer newsgroup.

The Project Award for the Most Open Project went to Eclipse 4 (e4) – the "next generation" of the Java development environment that will incorporate several familiar web technologies and reportedly put them to new uses. The Textual Modeling Framework (TMF) Xtext won the 2010 Most Innovative New Feature or Eclipse Project.

Bredex GUIdancer received a Technology Award for the Best Commercial Developer Tool for its GUI test and the Groovy-Eclipse plug-in was chosen as this year's Best Open Source Developer Tool. Other Technology Awards went to SpringSource dm Server, which won Best EclipseRT Application, and Tasktop Pro for the Best Rich Client Platform (RCP) Application.

Individual and project winners were selected by their peers in an online vote, while winners of the technology awards were selected by a panel of judges from the Eclipse community. Each of the recipients were honoured at an awards ceremony on the 22nd of March, the opening day of EcilpseCon 2010.

See also:


Print Version | Send by email | Permalink:

  • July's Community Calendar

The H Open

The H Security

The H Developer

The H Internet Toolkit