In association with heise online

15 March 2011, 16:00

Debian Project Leader elections: a foregone conclusion

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • submit to slashdot
  • StumbleUpon
  • submit to reddit

Debian Logo The Debian Project Leader (DPL) elections for this year are a foregone conclusion. The nomination period for the 2011 DPL Elections has ended and the only candidate is Stefano Zacchiroli, the current DPL. In a post on the debian-vote mailing list, Zacchiroli, also known simply as Zack, says that he believes that an election with only one candidate "is not healthy for democracy", adding that "I'm open to the possibility of retiring, in order to restart the process and have more than one candidate in the actual election."

The final vote will take place from the 2nd to the 15th of April and the new project leader term will officially start on the 17th of April. During the 2010 Debian Project Leader Elections, Zacchiroli was one of four candidates for the DPL position, along with Wouter Verhelst (Autobuilder Team), Charles Plessy (Debian Med Team) and Margarita Manterola (Debian Women) – the free software GNU/Linux distribution's project leader at the time, Steve McIntyre, chose not to run following several years in the position. Currently running unopposed, Zacchiroli, notes that he found the discussions and debate between the candidates in the previous election to be both interesting and useful.

Debian community members can take part in the discussion on the Debain Vote Mailing List.

See also:


Print Version | Send by email | Permalink:

  • July's Community Calendar

The H Open

The H Security

The H Developer

The H Internet Toolkit