In association with heise online

05 March 2010, 09:23

CeBIT 2010: Linux New Media Awards presented

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • submit to slashdot
  • StumbleUpon
  • submit to reddit

The winners of the Linux New Media Award were announced at the presentation forum of "CeBIT Open Source" on Thursday. Every year, the Munich publisher awards this prize to companies and projects who have rendered outstanding services to free software.

This year, an international jury from the open source community selected six category winners. The prize for outstanding contributions in the field of free software and Linux was awarded to all the Linux kernel developers. Jim Zemlin of the Linux Foundation praised them for their efforts and dedication in his presentation speech. The Debian project came second in this category.

The jury chose OpenStreetMap as the most innovative open source project. Second place in this category with an equal number of votes was awarded to KDE and CouchDB. Intel prevailed against AMD and Sun as the most Linux-friendly hardware vendor.

Android was awarded first place in the best contribution to free software on mobile devices category. Second and third place went to the Maemo and Moblin projects, which have since been merged to form MeeGo. Xen won the award for the best free cloud computing solution. Popular with SaaS (Software as a Service) developers, the Affero GPL licence came in second place.

In the final category, the jury chose the best Firefox extension. Here, the Adblock Plus banner blocker won first prize, followed by Firebug and NoScript in 2nd and 3rd place.


Print Version | Send by email | Permalink:

  • July's Community Calendar

The H Open

The H Security

The H Developer

The H Internet Toolkit